Tekno RC Team Report Week 30 2016


One more successful week with wins in USA and Europe! Tekno RC team drivers Jared Wiggins, Steve Downs, Mason Eppley, Tony Liljeqvist, Carlo de Marco,  Steve Alcock and Matt Bridge winning the races they attended in USA, Finland and UK! Race report from each follows:

MWRCT Round 3(USA), report by Jared Wiggins:

“Last weekend i traveled to Monroe, Wi for the rd 3 of the MWRCT at cheese city! I decided to run both Nitro Buggy and Ebuggy as they were feeling amazing on Friday practice!

On Saturday there was 2 rocket round 7 minute quals with double A Ebuggy mains! In Ebuggy I was able to put together an amazing run TQing by 22 seconds overall and setting the fastest lap and overall time by 10 seconds over all the rest of the classes! In round two I had an even faster run going until a couple big mistakes dropped me off but I still TQ’d rd 2 by 10 seconds!

In the Ebuggy mains I was able to win A1 by 1/2 a lap and A2 by a full lap taking the overall!! Car was amazing! Thanks to all my sponsors and race organizers for the amazing event!!”


Overall results:

TQ/1st: Jared Wiggins

2nd: Joe Sorwell

3rd: Danny Bartholomew

Race for Relief race (US), report by Steve Downs:

  • image-54 copy
  • image-8
  1. 1
  2. 2

“I was privileged to be involved with this benefit race from inception. On short notice,  we put together a race to raise money to aid the victims of recent flooding in the state I now call home, West Virginia. We raised over $1200 cash and supplies to donate to charities dedicated to relief.

Qualifying went well in 95 degree heat, maintaining fast runs in all 3 classes and taking TQ and win in e-truggy and the win in nitro truggy as well.”


Overall results:

Nitro Buggy:

1st: Steve Downs

2nd: Dave Osborne

3rd: Derrick Osborne

Electric Truggy:

TQ/1st: Steve Downs

2nd: Luke Bryant

3rd: Bryant Reynolds

NDOR Summer Series Round 4 (UK), report by Daniel Austin:

  • 13781892_10155116368048677_737381000409333908_n
  • 13754547_10155116368443677_3218588575464783195_n
  • 13692690_10155116376588677_28277330824619981_n
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

“Tekno drivers were out in force today at Ndor with Carlo De Marco, Daniel Austin, Steve Collinson, Martin Offer and Neil Bent all running in the nitro buggy class with thier NB48.3s. Mike Lightfoot, Adam Foley, Chaz Blake and Carlo running in the e buggy class with the EB48.3 and Steve Alcock, Martin Connolly, Matt Bridge and Johnny Hall representing in the truggy class with the ET48.3 and NT48.3.

In e-buggy, Mike Lightfoot took the TQ but an issue in the final meant an early bath and allowed Carlo De Marco to take the victory with Adam Foley taking 3rd and the final podium spot.

Tekno once again dominated the truggy class with Steve Alcock taking the overall TQ with the electric truggy and Matt Bridge lined up 2nd with the nitro truggy. With the results split at the end of the meeting with electric and Nitro, Steve Alcock took the victory in the electric truggy class with Martin Connolly taking 2nd and in the nitro truggy class Matt Bridge took the top podium spot and an excellent drive from Johnny Hall claiming 3rd place and a great podium finish.

Thanks to the Ndor crew for another great meeting and Chris Jeffries for race control/pictures and general awesomeness!

Massive thanks to all the Tekno drivers. By far the largest team and a great team spirit.”


Overall results:

Electric Buggy:

TQ/1st: Mike Lightfoot

2nd: Lloyd Pitt

3rd: Adam Foley

Electric Truggy:

TQ/1st: Steve Alcock

2nd: Martin Connolly

3rd: Adam Foley

Nitro Truggy:

TQ/1st: Matt Bridge

2nd: Rob Woodward

3rd: Johnny Hall

Finnish Open Round 2 (FIN), report by Tony Liljeqvist:

“We arrived at Nokia track one day before the Sunday’s race f0r practice. Practice round went great and qualifications gave me 2nd place to A-main. In finals we had a very tight fight for 1st place for whole 10 minutes but then the other guy suffered electric failure and I drove to an easy win. Great day for Tekno drivers, taking 1st and 2nd place in overall results.”


Overall results:

1st: Tony Liljeqvist

2nd: Martti Myllyntaus

3rd: Kai Jämsä

NCSOS Series Round 2 (US), report by Mason Eppley:

“I made the 3 hour drive up to Medford Oregon, for the 2nd round of the yearly NCSOS series. The 2nd round of the series would be held at Crown Raceway, just outside of Medford Oregon located on Chad Paris’ property. This meant for some real offroad racing! I would end up practicing all day Friday and was able to start with a good base setup for all of my cars. Tires would play the biggest role in setup, once I found the right tires my cars were dialed for racing on Saturday. With 80 entries and over 20 ebuggies, I knew it would be for some good competition.

Feeling confident going into qualifying, I would go ahead and TQ all three rounds of qualifying in the ebuggy class for the overall going into the triple a-main events. In both Mains I would be able to walk away and lap the entire field. My Tekno EB48.3 was dialed!”


Overall results:

TQ/1st: Mason Eppley

2nd: Austin Hansen

3rd: Dave Davoe