Tekno RC Team Report Week 25, 2016

A great week of racing in USA and UK with Tekno RC Team drivers Clayton Wittmayer, Derrick Harris, Austin Odum, John Bernard Jr, Mike Lightfoot, Mike Lightfoot, Seth VanDalen and Kaleb Hammy winning the races they attended. Great job everyone! Report from each race follows:

June Trophy Race (USA), report by Derrik Harris:

“Saturday I traveled to Zoo City Raceway for their June Trophy Race. I would end up running Nitro Buggy and E-buggy for the day. For practice, I mainly focused on my nitro as it is still rather new and I needed to make sure the tune was in line. By the time quals rolled around, I had the NB48.3 running well, with help from my fellow compeition.

The quals went well in Nitro as I was able to secure 2nd starting spot after a solid run in Q2. Tire selection was key as the slightest groove was trying to emerge amongst the loamy track conditions; I ended up going with M3 Blockades for the 25 min main. In the main, I was on a much shorter pit window than everyone else, so I focused on running clean lines. About mid-way into the race, I was able to collect on my misfortune from the leaders and take over the lead. I would lead the remainder of the race for my first Nitro win!

Thanks to my sponsors Tekno RC and G’s RC Raceway for their continued support!”


Overall Results:

1st: Derrick Harris

2nd: Tim Sink

3rd: Kyle Essenmacher


MNRC Race (USA), report by Seth VanDalen:

“The track was wet and loamy when we showed up on Friday but still had lots of traction. On Saturday it was still wet and loamy till half way through the second round the cloud cover went away and the sun came out and it grooved up very fast. On Sunday my cars were prepped and ready to go for the 120 degree track temp. In nitro truck we ran double yellow holeshots and I won by almost two laps with no issues from the truck or motor. In both Pro 4 a finals I lead most of the race and put almost a lap on every body in 8 minutes. In nitro buggy I ran clean and had a close battle with Tony Sletten to the end running double yellow fugitive lites, although the car was a little edgy with the lighter front sway bar we came out on top.”


Overall results:

Nitro Buggy:

TQ/1st: Seth VanDalen

2nd: Tony Sletten

3rd: Hunter Holmberg

Nitro Truggy:

TQ/1st: Seth VanDalen

2nd: Josh Ford

3rd: Greg Baumel

4×4 SCT:

TQ/1st: Seth VanDalen

2nd: Allen Smith

3rd: Bradley Olsen


Karsyn’s Crusaders Race (USA), report by Clayton Wittmayer:

“I got the TQ and win in Pro 4 and Electric buggy. In E-buggy I Had a good battle with teammate Mike Murphy. I was able to get around him and drive away from there for the win with teammate Jason Bloom in second.”


Overall Results:

TQ/1st: Clayton Wittmayer

2nd: Jason Bloom

3rd: Mitchell Pavel

NDOR Summer series Rd3 (UK), report by Daniel Austin:

“Super day at NDOR Summer Series Round 3! Lots of the Tekno/ RPRC team in attendance with 4 Teknos running in Nitro Buggy, 4 in E Buggy and 2 in Truggy.


In the A final, the race turned into an epic battle between Carlo De Marco and Lloyd Bostock right up to the final few corners of the race but Lloyd managed to keep his composer and a mistake from Carlo put an end to the battle and Lloyd came home with a well deserved victory. Carlo took 2nd and Dan Austin managed to take the final podium spot in 3rd. Wez Jolly finished 5th after suffering a cut on the last lap which cost him a 4th place finish and Steve Collinson came home in 10th. The E buggy final saw another ridiculous performance from Mike Lightfoot with a flag to flag victory and wasn’t far from lapping 2nd place twice! Ben Doyle took a podium finish in 3rd with Gerry Doyle finishing 5th and Chaz Blake in 7th. Steve Alcock walked away in the Truggy A final putting in his best ever time over the 20minute final, beating his best ever lap time and also taking all the 10 fastest laps of the race! Team mate Martin Connolly managed to maintain his starting position and take an excellent 5th place.

Big thanks to NDOR and Chris Jeffries for a great track and well run meeting and a massive congrats to all the Tekno team on their superb results.



Overall Results:

Nitro Buggy:

1st: Lloyd Bostock

2nd: Carlo De Marco

3rd: Daniel Austin

Electric Buggy:

TQ/1st: Mike Lighfoot

2nd: Fabien Simononi

3rd: Ben Doyle

Electric Truggy:

TQ/1st: Steve Alcock

2nd: Steve Morgan

3rd: John Winter


Spring Points Series (USA), report by Austin Odum:

“I attended the spring points series with Tekno teammate John Bernard. I focused on nitro buggy. He ran ebuggy and 4×4 SCT. There were a total of 5 races with a drop one system. The track there is absolutely amazing, it’s filled with good people and close racing. I won the points for nitro buggy and John Bernard won Ebuggy and 4×4 SCT.”


Overall results:

Nitro Buggy:

TQ/1st: Austin Odum

2nd: Will Alderman

3rd: Rob Lupo

Electric Buggy:

TQ/1st: John Bernard Jr

2nd: Will Alderman

3rd: Rob Lupo

4×4 SCT:

TQ/1st: John Bernard Jr

2nd: Justin Shaub

3rd: Tony Pavone


6th Annual MudBug Fest (USA), report by Kaleb Hamby:

“This was the 6th Annual MudBug Fest at T&T Speedway in Shreveport, LA. The indoor 1/10 scale track is a med/high bite track. This event brought in 90+ entries for the 1 day race. The track was high bite during practice and qualifiers with nearly everyone running slicks. By the mains the grip level was lower, and it had racers searching for the best tire.

I finished 2nd in all 3 of the qualifiers just a few seconds behind the leader. I was able to keep in touch with the leader for the first half of the race. With just over a minute left in the race, I was able to take over the lead and put some distance over the 2nd place truck. Tekno Trucks swept the podium!”


Overall Results:

1st: Kaleb Hamby

2nd: Logan Smith

3rd: Todd Turner